Tags

, , ,

I’ve been tagged by The Poet by Day to participate in a challenge, originally created by Naomi Baltuck from Writing between the lines. And because The Poet by Day is a writer I incredibly admire, I will skip the part where I have decided that this blog will not do awards and tag posts.

89px-hand_written_7-svg

About the challenge

– Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript
– Go to line 7
– Post on your blog the next 7 lines or sentences
– Tag 7 other people to do the same

Last year I was writing a book, but the 100 something pages I’ve written got lost together with my stolen laptop. I do, however, have half of the written on a notebook. It doesn’t go to page 77, but here is what’s on page 7, after the 7th line. I doubt I’ll ever finish this story, sometimes traumatic events give us completely other perspective on life, but if I ever go to Mumbai and manage to see all the things I wanted to describe in my story, who knows, one day I might go back to it!

“…6 a.m. The neon numbers on the bed side table stole the charm of the darkness in her sleep as soon as she opened her eyes. Disturbed by the noise coming from the street, she was now awake and staring at the curtains on the balcony door, wondering how the sounds managed to slip through the thick velvet. Weeks in Mumbai and she was still not used to the morning market fuss and the words shouted in a language she barely remembered and didn’t feel comfortable with. ‘Evangeline Elizabeth Ellias, you couldn’t pick a better hotel.’, she thought, murmuring in annoyance. The body next to her giggled and stretched two hands to pull her closer. ‘Who needs an alarm, when we have you.’, he said and his words drowned in the space between her shoulder and her neck. And these were the only moments that didn’t let her leave Mumbai, without having answers.”

I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you wish to participate, link your posts here- The poet by day and Writing between the lines.

©2013, B. T., All rights reserved

